Renovate, Don’t Reconstruct

Happy Holidays, everyone!

Now, I understand I haven’t posted in approximately 7 months, and in a couple of my previous posts I promised I would no longer neglect my blog. Well, here I am, 7 months later after breaking that promise. I apologize. I would like to say I don’t plan on neglecting my blog once again, but I probably am fresh out of credibility and I don’t know what unforeseen circumstances may force me to forget about it again. But alas, I’ll try not to. 🙂

Ok, ok. Enough of my pathetic little story about not posting. Let’s focus on something more present: Hooray, guys! The new year’s in about 2 days! We’re about to turn the chapter on 2013 and embark on a brand new adventure.

With a new year quickly approaching, this is usually a time for deep self-reflection for many people. We all feel rather tired of the current year and are ready to put it in the rear-view mirror. Grades, relationships, finances or just mistakes in general can all be a reason. It’s appealing to look towards the future and imagine the endless possibilities it holds in store for us. It’s our chance to turn over a new leaf, start a clean slate, new life, all of that good stuff.

And…..VOLIA! We have what is commonly referred to as a New Year’s Resolution.

New Year's Resolutions

During this time, we have one, or many, ways we want to drastically alter our lives or improve on something coming into the new year. Most of them are unrealistic and we’ll abandon them a couple of weeks into the new year, and some we may entertain a little while longer. The point is, they are large, substantial changes we want to make.

My question is: Why do we feel as if we need to make a HUGE change coming into the new year? What have we done that is so wrong that we need a new year in order for us to make a change? Why must the new year mean a (I daresay) new me (or you)?

My good friend Alex Brooks made the perfect statement: “Why do we feel the need to reconstruct? Why can’t we just renovate a few things in our life?”

This gets to the point that we think something we’re doing in our life is inherently at fault for whatever reason and must be addressed in the new year. By renovating, we’re making an improvement. By reconstructing, we’re sending ourselves the message that something is  wrong with who we are and we need to tear it down and build something new.

So, put down your hammer and screwdriver coming into the new year. There’s no need to destroy who you are. We’ve all been created in a beautiful image. Take some time to actually enjoy a new year, your friends, family, loved ones and, not to forget, YOURSELF.

Until next time,

Larry

Posted on December 30, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

